top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlice Whitfield

Exploring Chakra Yoga: A Path to Balance and Harmonious Energy

Throughout history, cultures have explored the fascinating concept of chakras, originating in ancient India. The word "chakra," derived from Sanskrit, means "wheel," representing the spinning vortexes of energy that interact with our physiological and neurological systems. These energy centers, when optimized, can regulate various bodily processes, including organ function, immune response, and emotional well-being. In this blog post, we will dive into the world of chakras and explore the practice of Chakra Yoga, which enables individuals to connect with and balance their personal energy centres.

Understanding the Chakras: The concept of chakras has been a subject of discussion since 1,500 B.C. and has found mention in ancient texts like the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali dating back to 200 B.C. The human body is believed to have seven chakras, each with its own vibrational frequency, color, and governing functions that contribute to optimising the body's energy system. Let's take a closer look at these chakras, starting from the base of the spine and moving upwards:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara): Located at the base of the spine, this chakra is associated with survival instincts and grounding. Its colour is red.

  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): Positioned in the lower abdomen, this chakra governs intuition, self-worth, self-esteem, and sexuality. Its colour is orange.

  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Found in the upper abdomen, this chakra influences impulse control and the ego. Its colour is yellow.

  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata): Situated in the center of the chest, this chakra is associated with compassion and spirituality. Its colour is green.

  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Located at the throat, this chakra governs communication and emotions. Its colour is blue.

  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): Positioned between the eyes, this chakra influences rationality, wisdom, and imagination. Its colour is purple.

  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): Situated at the top of the head, this chakra connects with the Divine. Its colour is indigo.

Exploring Chakra Yoga: Chakra yoga is a practice that combines specific yoga postures (asanas) and controlled breathwork (pranayama) to cleanse, balance, and open the energy centres of the body. By aligning the body, especially the spine, Chakra Yoga enables the flow of energy throughout the system, creating sustainable harmony. The practice focuses on three essential principles:

  1. Opening the Chakras: Through targeted yoga poses and breath work, Chakra Yoga activates and awakens each energy centre, allowing for a harmonious flow of energy.

  2. Balancing the Chakras: Chakra Yoga ensures that all chakras are in equilibrium, promoting overall well-being and optimal functioning of the body and mind.

  3. Cleansing the Chakras: By bringing awareness and energy, in the form of oxygen, to each chakra through breath and movement, Chakra Yoga helps maintain optimal vitality. Similar to how oxygen energises organs, it supports the chakra system.

The Role of Breath in Chakra Yoga: Breath, or pranayama, plays a crucial role in Chakra Yoga. It aids in focusing the mind, establishing balance in the body, and opening the chakra system. Conscious breathing saturates the body with oxygen, facilitating a healthy flow of energy. Just as oxygen nourishes organs for vitality, it brings life force to the chakras.

Yoga Poses for Chakra Activation: Different yoga poses can be adopted to open, cleanse, and balance each energy centre. Here are a few examples:

  • Root Chakra: Reclining bound angle pose, child's pose, forward bends, head to knee pose.

  • Sacral Chakra: Cow face pose, pigeon pose, bound angle poses.

  • Solar Plexus Chakra: Sun salutation, boat pose, leg lifts, mountain pose.

  • Heart Chakra: Backbends, eagle pose.

  • Throat Chakra: Shoulder stands, camel pose, plow pose, bridge pose.

  • Third Eye Chakra: Child's pose, cat/cow pose, shoulder stands.

  • Crown Chakra: Headstands, half lotus, corpse pose.

Benefits of Chakra Yoga: Activating and balancing the chakras through Chakra Yoga promotes harmony within the body and mind. It enhances the body's natural defences and creates a state of optimal immunity. When the chakras are aligned, individuals experience a profound sense of well-being, with their physical, mental, and spiritual aspects functioning in perfect harmony.

Conclusion: Chakra Yoga offers a pathway to balance and harmonious energy by connecting with and nurturing the body's energy centres. By incorporating specific yoga poses and breathwork, practitioners can cleanse, balance, and activate the chakras, leading to overall well-being and a heightened sense of vitality.

For more information, visit



Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page